Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

Oaths Of Office, Appointments Made To Open New Year

Graettinger To Lead Supervisors

January 4, 2013
Dan Voigt , Emmetsburg News

Ron Graettinger will lead the Palo Alto County Board of Supervisors for the 2013 year following a reorganization of the board on the first business day of the New Year Wednesday morning, Jan. 2. The oath of office was also administered to five newly elected county officials and several appointments capped off the first session of the New Year.

Retiring Board Chair Keith Wirtz administered the oath of office to newly elected Sheriff Lynn Schultes, Auditor Carmen Moser and Supervisor Linus Solberg, along with re-elected supervisors Ron Graettinger and Ed Noonan. Following the oath, Graettinger was elected as chair of the Supervisors, with Noonan named vice-chair for the year.

To start the New Year, the Supervisors introduced and approved several resolutions for Palo Alto County Engineer Joel Fantz. The resolutions included designating Fantz as the county's authorized agent to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance with plans and specifications in connection with all Farm to Market and Federal Aid construction projects in Palo Alto County. Also introduced and approved was a resolution authorizing Fantz to close secondary roads for scheduled construction projects, as well as closing roads temporarily under special circumstances such as maintenance or natural disasters. Additionally, a Right-Of-Way compliance agreement with the Iowa Department of Transportation was also introduced and approved by the board members.

Article Photos

OATH OF OFFICE - The newly elected officials of Palo Alto County were sworn in Wednesday to start the new year. Outgoing Board Chair Keith Wirtz, left, administered the oath of office to Auditor Carmen Moser, Supervisors Ron Graettinger and Ed Noonan, Sheriff Lynn Schultes and Supervisor Linus Solberg, from left to right, during the first official business day of the new year for Palo Alto County. -- Dan Voigt photo

A resolution approving financial depositories for County Recorder Bonnie Whitney in the amount of $100,000 at Iowa Trust and Savings Bank and for County Sheriff Lynn Schultes in the amount of $300,000 at Iowa Trust and Savings Bank were both introduced and approved. The Supervisors also designated Wells Fargo Bank and Laurens State Bank, all of Emmetsburg along with Bank Plus of Graettinger, West Iowa Bank and Farmers State Bank in West Bend and the Iowa State Bank in Ruthven all as authorized depositories for amounts not to exceed $15 million in county funds each by County Treasurer Mary Hilfiker. Additionally, Hilfiker was authorized to deposit up to $20 million in the Iowa Trust and Savings Bank in Emmetsburg.

Tim McCain of Emmetsburg was re-appointed to act as the county's Tax Agent for the upcoming year. The five newspapers published in the county, "The Reporter" and "The Democrat" of Emmetsburg, as well as the combined "West Bend Journal," "Graettinger Times," and "Ruthven Zipcode" were designated as official county newspapers for legal publications during the year.

Board members then began making their assignments for the coming year. Supervisor Jerry Hofstad was re-appointed to the Cherokee Mental Health Advisory Board, with Maureen Sandberg as alternate. Keith Wirtz was re-appointed to the Seasons Center Board and ISP Board with Hofstad as alternate to both boards. Ron Graettinger was then appointed to the newly created Regional Mental Health Governance Board for the year.

Ann Stillman was re-appointed to serve on the County's Mental Health Appeals Board along with Ron Ludwig and Peg McNally. Ed Noonan received re-appointment to both the R.I.D.E.S Board and the Northwest Iowa Consortium Board with Linus Solberg as alternate. Jerry Hofstad was also re-appointed to the North Central Emergency Response Commission with Linus Solberg as the alternate.

Keith Wirtz was re-appointed to the Iowa Drainage Advisory Board with Hofstad as alternate, and Linus Solberg was appointed as the Supervisors' liaison to the County E911 Board with Hofstad as alternate. Solberg was also appointed to the Third Judicial District board.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web