Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

E-Hawks Crown Trio Of Conference Champs

January 29, 2013
Dan Voigt , Emmetsburg News

LeMARS Emmetsburg's E-Hawk wrestlers earned a fourth place finish in the team standings at the 2013 Lakes Conference Wrestling Tournament Friday in LeMars. Coach Jared Pickett's E-Hawks crowed three individual champions in the final tune-up before Feb. 2 Class 1A Sectional Tournament at Manson Northwest Webster High School.

Spencer earned the team title and was followed by Spirit Lake, LeMars, then and the E-Hawks. Estherville Lincoln Central placed fifth, and was followed by Cherokee, Storm Lake and Western Christian.

Earning championships were the E-Hawk senior trio of Andrew Wellik, Austin McCartan and Tayler Wegner, while Brett Steinkamp finished as the runner-up at 113 pounds. Nick Merwald and Tyler Leuer would both finish in third place

Emmetsburg's first championship came from Andrew Wellik at 182 pounds, as he pinned Skylar Mongan of Cherokee in 1:35 in the quarterfinals and then pinned Pierce Jensen of Spencer in 1:48 in the semi-final. For the championship, Wellik took the title with a 2:51 win by fall over Adrian Castillo of Storm Lake.

Austin McCartan would follow with a championship at 195 pounds by pinning Jose Acebedo for Storm Lake in :46 for the quarterfinal match, and then pinned Chris Hiserote of LeMars in 2:35 in the semi-finals. McCartan would then pin Brady Mart of Spirit Lake in 1:06 to win his championship.

At 220 pounds, Tayler Wegner needed just :15 to pin Tony Botcher of Spencer in the quarterfinals, and then pinned Cody Wernimont of Spirit Lake in :23 to earn a championship match with Chase Bonner of Estherville Lincoln Central. Wegner would win the conference title with a 1:28 win by fall over Bonner for the E-Hawks.

At 113 pounds, Brett Steinkamp claimed a quarterfinal win by fall in 1:34 over Joel McCoy of Estherville Lincoln Central and then pinned Matt Henning of Western Christian in 2:51 to advance to the championship match. Steinkamp would meet Trevor Streuli of Spencer but was pinned in 2:25 to finish second for Emmetsburg at 113 pounds.

Nick Merwald opened the tournament at 126 pounds with a bye, but in the semi-finals, Merwald came up short in a 7-3 decision loss to Hunter Morrow of Cherokee. Moving into the consolation semi-finals, Merwald earned a 4-0 decision win over Mason Weiler of LeMars and then won the consolation championship with a 5:58 win by fall over Ronald Duque of Storm Lake for the third place finish.

At 138 pounds, Tyler Leuer earned a 1:54 win by fall over Cody Beck of LeMars in the quarterfinal round, but Leuer would lose an 8-3 decision to Spencer's Levi Gilmore in the semi-final round. Leuer moved into the consolation semi-final, where he earned a 12-0 Major Decision over Ethan Bergendahl of Spirit Lake. For the consolation championship, Leuer was slated to wrestle Storm Lake's Juan Figueroa, but the Storm Lake wrestler defaulted due to injury, giving Leuer the third place finish at 132 pounds for Emmetsburg.

Freshman Dillon VanOosbree got off to a rough start as he came up short in a 6-4 decision loss to Easton Gifford of Estherville Lincoln Central in the quarterfinal round. VanOosbree would receive a bye in the consolation quarterfinal, and then wrestled Gage Roberts of Spirit Lake, where he lost a 10-6 decision. VanOosbree would meet his first-round opponent, Easton Gifford of ELC in the fifth place match, but the E-Hawk earned a measure of revenge wit a 4:55 win by fall over Gifford to earn the fifth place finish.

At 120 pounds, Jake Miller drew a bye in the quarterfinals, but in the semi-finals, Miller was pinned in 1:59 by Spencer's Bailey Hawn to move into the consolation bracket. Miller would be pinned by Cole Budach of Estherville Lincoln Central in 2:51 to drop into the fifth place match. Miller wrestled Darren Eades of Storm Lake in the match and earned an 8-0 Major Decision win to finish fifth for Emmetsburg at 120 pounds.

Tanner Dahm, wrestling at 285 pounds, was pinned in his quarterfinal match by Tevita Moa-Lamp of LeMars. In the consolation bracket, Dahm received a first-round bye but was pinned by Casey Seversen of Spencer in 5:15 of the consolation semi-finals. In the fifth place match, Dahm would meet Nathan Carlson of Storm Lake, who would forfeit to Dahm, giving the E-Hawk the fifth place finish at heavyweight.

At 138 pounds, Chris VanHeuvelen of Emmetsburg was pinned in 2:39 of his quarterfinal match with Tyson Samsel of Spencer, and then lost an 8-1 decision to Thomas Bortvit of Estherville Lincoln Central that would end his tournament appearance.

Caige Elbert, wrestling at 145 pounds, was the victim of a :56 pin by Kenten Murray of Spirit Lake in the opening round of action and then lost a 7-1 decision to Spencer's Hunter Cauthron to be eliminated from the tournament with two consecutive losses.

At 152 pounds, Joe Schmidt battled Mark Altena of Western Christian in the opening round of action, but fell victim to a 2:34 pin. Moving into the consolation round, Schmidt was pinned in :27 by Cole Feitner of Storm Lake to end his tournament.

At 160 pounds, Wes Brennan wrestled Noel Banuelos of Storm Lake and was pinned in 1:08 to move to the consolation round, where he was pinned by Chris Hamman of LeMars in 1:24 to end his tournament appearance.

Junior Varsity matches were also wrestled Friday evening with five E-Hawks participating in matches.

Connor Crosgrove would finish with two losses to wrestlers from Spencer and LeMars.

Joey Lowman would finish with losses to a pair of wrestlers from Storm Lake and a third loss to a Spencer wrestler.

Robert Nelson would suffer a loss to a wrestler from LeMars, but earned a 3:16 win by fall over a Spirit Lake wrestler and a 4:45 win by fall over a wrester from LeMars.

Keagan Barrett lost matches to wrestlers from Spencer, LeMars and Cherokee.

Rounding out the efforts was Pat Brennan, who earned a 1:03 win by fall over a Storm Lake wrestler.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web