Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

Public Meeting Highlights Community Center Plans

Vision For The Future Public Meeting Thursday 7 p.m. EHS?Auditorium

February 19, 2013
Jane Whitmore , Emmetsburg News

A public meeting highlighting plans for a new Emmetsburg Community Center is this Thursday, Feb. 21.

"People have been asking for a meeting to hear about the updated plan," said Deb Hite, marketing committee member. "This is your opportunity to hear plans from the Steering Committee, have your questions answered and voice your support for the Community Center project."

Tony Kauten, a member of the Steering Committee, will emcee the informational meeting. Committee members will speak on their areas of expertise.

"We will also have a video showing the proposed new facility," said Hite.

The public will meet in Emmetsburg High School Auditorium at 7 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 21.

"In addition to presentations from committee members and the video, there will be time for questions and answers," Hite added. "This is your vision for the future."

Refreshments will be served outside the auditorium after the presentation. Steering Committee members and members of ECDC (Emmetsburg Community Development Corporation) will be available talk to the public and answer any other questions that may arise.

"Through the planning process, we have involved community and area residents," said Hite. "Our committees include building, operations, finance and marketing. These committees have involved caterers and restaurant people in the planning process, along with residents involved in tourism and other areas."

The new Community Center will be built on the site adjacent to Five Island Golf course, on the shores of Five Island Lake.

Steering Committee members are Tony Kauten, Kirk Haack, Kelly Bay, Kim Zimmerman, Kris Ausborn, Myrna Heddinger and Deb Hite.

Building Committee members are John Bird, Bill Lapczenski, Mike Hermanson, Sandy Naig, Dan Cooper, Justin Cooper, Corey Gramowski and Steve Finer.

Operations Committee members are Val Newhouse, Myrna Heddinger, Kirk Haack, Steve Olerich, Vicky VanOosbree, Ruth Brown and Deb Hite.

Finance Committee members are Kris Ausborn, Kelly Bay and Kent Klootwyk.

Marketing Committee members are Kim Zimmerman, Deb Hite, Lois Enger, Rosemary Matthews, Marc Riley and Jane Campbell.

"We encourage everyone to participate in this public meeting and to show their support for the project," said Hite. "Committee members have worked many hours putting this plan together."

A model of the proposed facility will be on diplay. New brochures will be available for those attending. Committee members will project a timeline for different phases of the project as a whole.

In case of inclement weather, the public meeting will be rescheduled to a future date.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web