Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

Palo Alto Named In Disaster Area

July 5, 2013
Emmetsburg News

Federal disaster aid has been made available to the State of Iowa to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in the area affected by severe storms, tornados, and flooding during the period of May 19 to June 14, 2013, according to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The President's action makes federal funding available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, tornados, and flooding in Palo Alto County, along with Appanoose, Benton, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, Davis, Delaware, Des Moines, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greene, Grundy, Hardin, Henry, Ida, Iowa, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lyon, Mahaska, Marshall, Mitchell, Monona, Monroe, O'Brien, Plymouth, Poweshiek, Sac, Sioux, Story, Tama, Wapello, Webster, Winnebago, and Wright counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Joe M. Girot has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area.

"This assistance is critical to local transportation, telecommunications, electrical, and public safety systems that were severely disrupted as a result of this storm," said Sen. Tom Harkin in a statement issued Tuesday. "We know that damage caused by weather can be unpredictable, and severe incidents like last month's storms require more than just state and local support."



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web