Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

School Board Elections Today

Polls Open From 12 Noon Until 8:00 p.m.

September 10, 2013
by Dan Voigt , Emmetsburg News

Area voters are reminded to cast their ballots in their respective School Board elections today, Tuesday, Sept. 10. Polling places for the school board elections are open from 12 noon to 8 p.m.

Emmetsburg Community School District

Voters in the Emmetsburg Community School District have a field of six candidates who are running for three seats on the board of education. Incumbent candidates Kim Campbell and Tammy Naig are both running for re-election to their seats on the board, while current board member Karla Anderson chose not to seek another term of service. Also running for the Emmetsburg School Board are Rick Bird, Jesse Wolfe, Terry Manwarren and Linda Mathis Tienter.

West Bend-Mallard Community School District

A total of four candidates are running for three seats on the West Bend-Mallard Community School Board. Wendell Schmidt is the lone incumbent member of the board running for re-election to his seat, as current board members Doug Schwartzkopf and Pat Vonnahme chose not to seek re-election. Candidates for the seats on the West Bend-Mallard board along with Wendell Schmidt are Mike Thatcher, David Bruellman and Philip Dahlhauser, all of West Bend.

Ruthven-Ayrshire Community School District

A total of three seats are up for election for the Ruthven- Ayrshire Community School Board, but only two candidates have field nominations papers for the seats. Current board members Tammy Chapman and Barry Fischer chose not to seek another term on the board, while incumbent board member Susan Sikora is running for re-election to her post on the board. Darin Malm of Ruthven has filed for the second vacancy on the board. However, the third vacant seat will have to be filled through write-in voting.

Additionally, patron of the Ruthven-Ayrshire School District also have two public measures on the ballot, the first for an Instructional Support Levy Question and the second for a Physical Plant and Equipment Levy question.

Graettinger-Terril Community School District

Patrons of the Graettinger-Terril Community School district have two seats to fill on the district's Board of Education. However, incumbents Kyle Norris of Graettinger and Mathew Hanson of Terril have both filed for re-election to their seats and are running unopposed in the election.

Iowa Lakes Community College

Many Palo Alto County residents will also cast a ballot for the Iowa Lakes Community College Board of Trustees for District Six, which includes the Ruthven-Ayrshire, Emmetsburg and West Bend-Mallard school districts. Incumbent Trustee Patrick Kibbie of Emmetsburg is the lone candidate for the position on the Iowa Lakes Board. Voters in Iowa Lakes Director Districts three and eight will also cast ballots for trustees in Tuesday's elections.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web