Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

Century and Heritage Farms Recognized At Iowa State Fair

September 10, 2013
Emmetsburg News

DES MOINES -Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey recognized Century and Heritage Farm families during a ceremony at the State Fair again this year. To qualify, a family must have owned at least 40 acres for 100 years or more in the case of Century Farms and 150 years or more for a Heritage Farm.

This year 365 Century Farms and 67 Heritage Farms were recognized.

"It is a great pleasure and distinct honor to help recognize these farm families that have owned the same farm for 100 or 150 years. It is a testament to the values of land stewardship, hard work, patience, dedication and perseverance that are found in Iowa's farm families," Northey said.

The Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship has partnered with the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation since 1976 to recognize families that have owned and worked a farm for 100 years or more. Including this year's recipients, now 17,851 farms from across the state have been recognized.

The Heritage Farm program was started in 2006, on the 30th anniversary of the Century Farm program, and now 650 farms have been recognized.

The 2013 Century and Heritage Farms Program ceremony was held at the Iowa State Fair on Tuesday, August 13. Craig Hill, President of the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, or Joe Heinrich, Vice President of the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, joined Northey in recognizing the award recipients.

"The program acknowledges the deep roots of Iowa agriculture and the special bond that exists between Iowa families and the land they farm," Northey said. "The Iowa State Fair is a celebration of Iowa and Iowa Agriculture, so it's a great place to recognize the Century Farm and Heritage Farm recipients."

Palo Alto County Area

Century Farms

1905-2013 Antone R. Clausen; Helen Crow, Hillmer Family Trust, Clausen Living Trust. The farm is located at 370th Avenue and 400th Street, Ayrshire.

1913-2013 Obed and Dawn Naig. The farm is located at 5176 310th St., Cylinder.

1911-2013 Dean Simonson; Merrill Barlow, Phyllis Schroeder. The farm is located at 3121 470th Avenue, Emmetsburg.

1883-2013 Ben Habeger. The farm is located at 102 130th St., West Bend.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web