Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

Close Race for District Five Supervisor

Preliminary Palo Alto County Results Tallied

November 9, 2018
By Anesa McGregor , Emmetsburg News

by Anesa McGregor

There was only one contested race in the six Palo Alto County offices that were up for grabs this year. The race between incumbent Linus Solberg and the challenger Clint Young for District 5 Supervisor came down to the wire.

Voter turnout this year was much better than last year for the municipal elections. This year there was a total of 6,038 registered voters in Palo Alto County with 3,813 casting their vote; for a total of 63 percent.

In the race for District 5 Supervisor, incumbent Linus Solberg came away with 395 votes and the challenger Clint Young received 382 votes.

In talking with Solberg after the election, he had this to say, "It was a really close race. I think my opponent was a very worthy, very qualified candidate. I want to thank everyone who voted for me and for those who did not, I hope they contact me with their concerns."

Incumbent Keith Wirtz was the only candidate for District 1 Supervisor, receiving 744 votes. In District 2, the incumbent Craig Merrill ran unopposed and received 627 votes.

Three other county offices were up for re-election: County Treasurer incumbent Robin Jamison ran unopposed receiving 3,311 votes, incumbent Sue Ruppert was unopposed for the office of County Recorder and received 3,301 votes and for the office of County Attorney, the incumbent Peter Hart ran unopposed receiving, 2,734 votes.

State Office Elections

There were four candidates running for United States Representative District 4. The incumbent Steve King (Republican) received 1,923 votes. The Democratic challenger J. D. Scholten received 1,700 votes, with Libertarian Charles Aldrich received 58 votes and Edward Peterson received 11 votes in Palo Alto County.

In the race for Governor/Lieutenant Governor the Democratic challenger Fred Hubbell/Rita Hart received 1,398 votes in Palo Alto County and the incumbent Republican Kim Reynolds/Adam Gregg received 2,317 votes. Jake Porter/Lynne Gentry (Lib) received 54 votes and Gary Siegwarth (Cle) with 14.

The race for Secretary of State incumbent Paul D. Pate (Rep) came away with 2,332 votes in Palo Alto County and the Dem. challenger Deidre DeJear garnered 1,248 with Jules Ofenbakh (Lib) walking away with 66 votes.

Incumbent Mary Mosiman (Rep) garnered 2,054 votes in the race for Auditor of State with challengers Rob Sand (Dem) receiving 1,518 and Fred Perryman (Lib) getting 65 votes in Palo Alto County.

Challenger Jeremy N. Davis (Rep) walked away with 1,812 votes while State Treasurer incumbent Michael L. Fitzgerald (Dem) received 1,789 votes and 50 votes went to Timothy Hird (Lib).

Secretary of Agriculture Republican incumbent Mike Naig garnered 2,861 votes in Palo Alto County over the challenger Tim Gannon (Dem) receiving 864 votes, with 42 votes going to Rick Stewart (Lib).

Incumbent Tom Miller (Dem) received 2,354 votes for Attorney General in Palo Alto County; while the challenger Marco Battaglia (Lib) received 721 votes. In State Senator District 1, Zach Whiting (Rep) ran unopposed receiving 2,840 votes.

The final state race for State Representative District 2, incumbent Megan Lee Hess Jones garnered 2,467 votes while the challenger Ryan Odor (Dem) received 1,222 votes.

Other County Contests

AJ Osborn received 66 votes for Fairfield Township Trustee and Jana Mathisen garnered 66 votes for Fairfield Township Clerk.

Dave Loomis garnered 61 votes for Silver Lake Township Trustee; while Darrel Reed received 60 votes for Silver Lake Township Clerk.

Thomas John Gambell received 76 votes for West Bend Township Trustee and Donald E. Banwart garnered 84 votes for West Bend Township Clerk.

Palo Alto County Hospital Trustees had three spots open which went to the following candidates: Terry Naig with 2,083 votes, Cindy Magee with 1,849 votes and Jana Harris with 1,611 votes. Michael Jacobsen received 1,463 votes.

Two positions were up for Soil and Water Conservation District Commissioners. Jerry Joyce garnered 2,342 votes and Mike F. Kollasch received 2,286 votes.

There were five spots on the County Agricultural Extension Council Members and four people running: Roberta Hersom with 2,285 votes, Lori Wickman with 2,234 votes, Jennifer Hurley with 2,112 votes and Kimberly Marie Hohensee with 1,912 votes.

These are the preliminary results and do not include the write-in votes cast. Final canvasing will be on Tuesday, November 13.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web