Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Contact Us | Home RSS

County Extension Officers Elected For Palo Alto County

March 8, 2019
Emmetsburg News

Four officers were elected during the Iowa State University Extension and Outreach Palo Alto County extension council organizational meeting in January. The nine-member county extension council annually elects officers to comply with Iowa law.

Sue Haack of Emmetsburg, is the newly-elected chairperson. Sue Haack of Emmetsburg will preside at all meetings of the county extension council, have authority to call special meetings and perform duties as performed and exercised by a chairperson of a board of directors of a corporation. Nathan Hoffman of Graettinger, was elected vice chairperson.

Jennifer Hurley of Curlew, was elected secretary and has the responsibility of keeping the minutes of all county extension council meetings and signing required papers for the council.

The council elected Roberta Hersom of Emmetsburg, to the treasurer position. The treasurer has charge of all of the funds of the county extension council; receives, deposits, pays and disburses. The treasurer insures an accurate record

of receipts and disbursements and submits reports to the county extension council.

As elected officials, the county extension council is the governing body of ISU Extension and Outreach. The county extension council hires county staff, manages the county extension budget of approximately$ 286,931 and helps determine programming.

In partnership with ISU Extension and Outreach, the council provides educational opportunities that bring university resources to the needs of the county and region.

Local county extension programs include the 4-H and Youth Development program, Commercial and Private Pesticide, Women, Land and Legacy and Childcare Provider training, VITA tax program and numerous other programs.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web