Iowa Century and Heritage Farms Recognized


Two Northwest Iowa families received Iowa Century Farm awards last week from Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig and Iowa Farm Bureau Federation President Craig Hill. The award ceremony was held at the Palo Alto County Fairgrounds in Emmetsburg last Friday. To achieve Century Farm status, each family must maintain ownership of the land for 100 years.

"The Century Farm Program recognizes the strength and resiliency of Iowa farm families, and the sacrifices each generation has made to retain the ownership of the land for 100 years," said Secretary Naig. "These families all deserve to be recognized and celebrated for reaching this milestone and being a part of Iowa's rich agricultural legacy."

"Agriculture and our farm families have long been critical to the vitality of rural communities across the state and the backbone of Iowa's economy," said Craig Hill, Iowa Farm Bureau President. "It's a tremendous honor to co-sponsor the Century Farm programs recognizing the multi-generational farm families that have persevered countless challenges over 100 years and kept their farms in the family."

The Century Farm families recognized at the ceremony in Emmetsburg were:

• Dykstra Farm - Marilyn (Dykstra) Zevenbergen, Doris (Zevenbergen) Waalkes, Gary Zevenbergen, Melvin Zevenbergen, David Zevenbergen from Sibley in Osceola County; Farm Origin Year 1920, Century Farm Award Year 2020

• Helen Huitink from Orange City in Sioux County; Farm Origin Year 1920, Century Farm Award Year 2020

There were 238 families who received the Century Farm award, recognizing 100 years of ownership, and 103 families who received the Heritage Farm award, recognizing 150 years of ownership, this year. Families who received the award in 2020 could choose to participate in a small regional event or the 2021 Iowa State Fair.

Read the full article in The Reporter.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here